The National Maritime Historical Society

You are here > News & Events > NMHS Events > 2016 National Maritime Awards Dinner

2016 National Maritime Awards Dinner

The National Maritime Historical Society and the Naval Historical Foundation invite you to join us in honoring those who have contributed to our maritime heritage.

National Maritime Awards Dinner
21 April 2016
The National Press Club, Washington, DC

Stephen B. Phillips, owner of Phillips Foods and Seafood  Restaurants
Charles A. Robertson,
founder, chairman and CEO of American Cruise Lines and Chesapeake Shipbuilding; and CEO of Pearl Seas Cruises
Andrew Taylor, executive chairman of Enterprise Holdings

Reception at 6:00 PM
Dinner at 7:00 PM
The National Press Club
529 Fourteenth Street, NW, 13th Floor
Washington, DC 20045

We offer a wide range of sponsorship opportunities; please email Wendy or call 914 737-7878 x 235  for further details or if you have any questions. The sponsorship response card can be found here.

Individual tickets are $250 per person.  Please call Wendy at 914 737-7878 x 235 to make your reservation or send in the RSVP FORM.


Steve Phillips HeadshotStephen B. Phillips
NMHS Distinguished Service Award

Mr. Phillips, Owner of Phillips Foods and Seafood Restaurants, is a Chesapeake Bay business icon, global aquaculturalist, restaurant operator/seafood producer, and sustainable world fishing industry advocate. As a fourth-generation Chesapeake Bay resident operating 19 restaurants on the East Coast, he has worked tirelessly to study and create a sustainable environment for the survival of oysters. Mr. Phillips is an ardent conservationist and a leader in seafood sustainability, and he has created and enforced international sustainability measures which protect and preserve both the environment and the continuation of oyster boats. The National Maritime Historical Society Distinguished Service Award will be presented by sailor, philanthropist and co-founder of Sailors for the Sea, David Rockefeller, Jr.

CharlesAndersonPhotoCharles A. Robertson
NMHS Distinguished Service Award

The founder, chairman and chief executive officer of American Cruise Lines and Chesapeake Shipbuilding Corporation, Mr. Robinson is also CEO of Pearl Seas Cruises. ACL is the leading small cruise line in the United States (river boats, paddlewheelers), operating seven ships for cruising along the Eastern Seaboard, Western Seaboard and America’s rivers. The line’s history-oriented cruises include the Lewis and Clark Voyage on the Snake and Columbia rivers. His firms have built 12 small cruise ships and approximately 70 other commercial vessels, up to 320 feet. Robertson is a former NMHS trustee, a governor of the Chesapeake Bay Maritime Museum, and a winning competitive sailor who has competed in the Newport Bermuda Race, the Queen’s Cup, and the Atlantic Class National Championship. The National Maritime Historical Society Distinguished Service Award will be presented by the former Commodore of the New York Yacht Club and CEO of McCann Erickson Robert L. James.

Andy Taylor 300dpiAndrew Taylor
Naval Historical Foundation Distinguished Service Award

Mr. Taylor has a long-standing commitment to the US Navy and its heritage which has been amply demonstrated through his support of USS Enterprise (CVN-65); his participation in events honoring USS Enterprise (CV-6) and her World War II veterans; and his support for the programs at the National Naval Aviation Museum, the US Naval Institute, and the Naval Historical Foundation. Andrew Taylor is executive chairman of Enterprise Holdings, Inc., designated a top veteran-friendly company by US Veterans Magazine and a 2013 Military Friendly Employer® by Victory Media, publisher of GI Jobs. The Naval Historical Foundation Distinguished Service Award will be presented by the 9th vice chairman of the Joint Chiefs of Staff Admiral James Alexander “Sandy” Winnefeld, Jr. USN (Ret).


The Master of Ceremonies will be Gary Jobson, world-class sailor, television commentator, author, president of the National Sailing Hall of Fame, vice president of the International Sailing Federation, past president of the U.S. Sailing and NMHS Overseer. Entertainment will be provided by the United States Merchant Marine Academy Midshipmen Mariners Chorus, directed by Dr. Katherine Meloan.


Co-Chairman CAPT Jim Noone, USNR (Ret.) and Dr. Timothy J. Runyan
Philip Webster, Founding Chair
Charles B. Anderson, John Brady, Walter R. Brown, CAPT Patrick Burns, USN (Ret.), RADM Joseph F. Callo, USN (Ret.), Dr. William Cogar, CAPT Charles Creekman, USN (Ret.), Vice Admiral Dirk J. Debbink, USNR (Ret.), Donna Dudley, Dr. William Dudley, David S. Fowler, Burchenal Green, Kristen Greenaway, Elliot Gruber, Karen Helmerson, Gary Jobson, Dr. Paul F. Johnston, Robert F. Kamm, Vice Admiral Al Konetzni, USN (Ret.), Lt. Cdr. Heidi Lenzini, USN (Ret.), Richardo Lopes, Guy E. Maitland, Ginger Martus, LCDR Jim Mathieu, USCG (Ret.), CAPT Sally Chin McElwreath, USN (Ret.), Drew McMullen, Captain James J. McNamara, RADM John Mitchell, USN (Ret.), Captain Eric Nielsen, Ronald L. Oswald, Admiral Robert J. Papp, Jr., USCG (Ret.), Polly Parks, The Honorable S. Jay Plager, Christopher Rowsom,  Richard Scarano, Philip Shapiro, Howard Slotnick, Duncan Smith III, Esq., H.C. Bowen Smith, Dr. Joshua Smith, Captain Cesare Sorio, Irmy Webster, Dr. David Winkler, Jean Wort

One of the many exciting aspects of the National Maritime Awards Dinner in Washington is the auction, which gives maritime enthusiasts a chance to own and experience unique nautical pieces, artwork, resort vacations and insider tours, while supporting the Society and making it possible for us to continue our work honoring those most esteemed contributors to our maritime legacy.
TAKE A LOOK  ….at our fantastic auction items including artwork, maps, resort vacations, yacht tours, maritime pieces, and much much more ….


J. W. Marriott DC
1331 Pennsylvania Avenue NW (next to the National Press Club)
Washington, DC
A limited block of standard guest rooms has been reserved at the rate of $319/night plus taxes and is available until 23 March 2016 or until the block is full.  Please call 202 393-2000 and let them know that you are calling for the National Maritime Historical Society room block.