The National Maritime Historical Society

You are here > News & Events > 2013 Annual Awards Dinner

2013 Annual Awards Dinner

The National Maritime Historical Society is excited to once again host our Annual Awards Dinner at the New York Yacht club on October 23rd. This year, we will celebrate with a special 50th Anniversary Gala Celebration awarding four most esteemed and worthy recipients, representing the spectrum of the heritage from yachting, ocean liners, and marine conservation to historic ships.


2013 Gala 50th Anniversary Annual Awards Dinner Recipients:

Stan Honey, Director of Technology, America’s Cup Event Authority. The NMHS Distinguished Service Award is given in recognition of his work in educating the public to understand and appreciate America’s Cup and the art and science of sailing and racing. By providing the technical ability for commentators to explain the race, he has made it possible for a great new audience to become interested in sailing. Mr. Honey, who is known for his invention of the telecast “Lines of Scrimmage” in football, is also considered the world’s greatest navigator.

Cunard Cruise Line– The NMHS Distinguished Service Award is given to Cunard in recognition for its not only serving as the oldest cruise line, but as an organization with a passion for its illustrious company history and its crucial role in the history of ocean transportation in peace and war, from Britannia in 1840 to serving as transport in the great wars, to the Three Queens sailing today. This is only the second time this award has been presented not to an individual, and the first time to a company.

Rear Admiral Sandra L. Stosz, USCG, 40th Superintendent of the U.S. Coast Guard Academy.  Rear Admiral Stosz is a surface operations officer with 12 years at sea, including command of two cutters – an icebreaking tug on the Great Lakes and a medium endurance cutter that patrolled North Atlantic and Caribbean waters. She and her crews executed many of the Coast Guard’s 11 missions such as drug and alien migrant interdiction, fisheries enforcement, search and rescue, polar and domestic icebreaking and ports and waterways security. She has served as Commanding Officer of the Coast Guard’s recruit training center in Cape May, New Jersey and as Director of Coast Guard Enterprise Strategic Management and Doctrine where she was responsible for aligning enterprise level strategic and management functions with the Commandant’s strategic intent.


Richardo Lopes, Executive Producer/Director, XXL Media. The NMHS David A. O’Neil Sheet Anchor Award is given for his many decades of service advancing the mission of the Society. He has served as an active Vice Chairman and member of the New York and Washington Awards Dinner Committees. He has lent his talent as a documentarian and filmmaker to help save historic ships and to create short video introductions for the award recipients to show at the Award Dinners, a feature that has made the events extremely more successful, both financially and as productions. He is the talent directing the Society to attract and encourage younger members by creating documentaries on maritime themes. Mr. Lopes is the vision behind the successful Sea History for Kids feature. His counsel at Board meetings and friendship with his fellow trustees has helped advance the scope and work of the Society.

Richard du Moulin will be Master of Ceremonies.

Dinner chair is Karen Helmerson

For more information on this event please call (914) 737-7878 ext “0”.